Skip to main content

Executive Committee

GWS Program Coordinator and Executive Committee


The GWS program coordinator is appointed by the Kennedy Center Director in consultation with the Assistant Director of Academic Programs and Research, and with the approval of the IAS Council and the faculty member’s department chair. The program coordinator (with approval from deans and department chairs) invites faculty to serve on an executive committee (composed of at least six members from different disciplines). The executive committee members work together to oversee and manage the Global Women’s Studies curriculum, to plan and carry out activities related to the program, to distribute allocated resources in accordance with program needs and goals, to facilitate interdisciplinary research, and to establish relationships with national and international women’s studies scholars.


Current Committee Members

Valerie Hegstrom

Professor
Spanish Literature

3148 JFSB
(801) 422-3191

valerie_hegstrom@byu.edu

Kif Augustine-Adams

Professor
Law

428 JRCB
(801) 422-3712

adamsk@law.byu.edu

Claudine Bigelow

Professor
Music

E545 HFAC
(801) 422-1315

claudine_bigelow@byu.edu

Marie Orton

Professor
French and Italian

3134B JFSB
(801) 422-3389

marie_orton@byu.edu

Amy Easton-Flake

Associate Professor
Ancient Scripture

210L JSB
(801) 422-3358

amy_eastonflake@byu.edu

Lori Spruance

Assistant Professor
Public Health

2149 LSB
(801) 422-0281

lori.andersen@byu.edu

Melissa S. Jones

Assistant Professor
Sociology

2027 JFSB
(801) 422-6471

melissa.s.jones@byu.edu

Stacey Shaw

Assistant Professor
Social Work

2171 JFSB
(801) 422-2171

stacey_shaw@byu.edu

Kristin Matthews

Professor
English

4160 JFSB
(801) 422-5295

kristin_matthews@byu.edu

Julie Allen

Professor
Comparative Arts & Letters

3025 JFSB
(801) 422-7891

julie_allen@byu.edu