Skip to main content

Faculty

Latin American Studies Coordinator

Jeffrey Shumway

Professor
History

2143 JFSB and 216 HRCB
(801) 422-2829

jshumway@byu.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Kif Augustine-Adams

Professor
Law

428 JRCB
(801) 422-3712

adamsk@law.byu.edu

Kendall Brown

Professor
History

2117 JFSB
(801) 422-6285

kendall_brown@byu.edu

Eric Bybee

Associate Professor
Teacher Education

206J MCKB
(801) 422-4129

ericbybee@byu.edu

Zachary Chase

Assistant Professor
Anthropology

882 KMBL
(801) 422-6836

zachary_chase@byu.edu

Mark Christensen

Professor
History

2103 JFSB
(801) 422-9333

mark_christensen@byu.edu

Allen Christenson

Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

3008 JFSB
(801) 422-5848

allen_christenson@byu.edu

John Clark

Professor
Anthropology

876 KMBL
(801) 422-3822

John_clark@byu.edu

Emron Esplin

Associate Professor
English

4148 JFSB
(801) 422-9077

emron_esplin@byu.edu

Marlene Esplin

Associate Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

3050 JFSB
(801) 422-6246

mhesplin@byu.edu

Renata Forste

Professor
Sociology

2025 JFSB
(801) 422-3146

renata_forste@byu.edu

Juan Freire

Assistant Professor
Teacher Education

206R MCKB
(801) 422-4689

freire@byu.edu

Ignacio Garcia

Professor
History

2121 JFSB
(801) 422-4387

freire@byu.edu

Mara Garcia

Professor
Spanish and Protuguese

3150 JFSB
(801) 422-3106

mara_garcia@byu.edu

David-James Gonzales

Assistant Professor
History

2107 JFSB
(801) 422-6082

djgonzales@byu.edu

George Handley

Associate Director
Faculty Center Administrators

3770 C HBLL
(801) 422-7151

george_handley@byu.edu

Darren Hawkins

Professor
Political Science

745 SWKT
(801) 422-5526

dhawkins@byu.edu

Kirk Hawkins

Professor
Political Science

782 SWKT
(801) 422-1362

kirk.hawkins@byu.edu

Matt Hill

Assistant Librarian
Latin American and Iberian Studies

5450 HBLL
(801) 422-2473

matthew_hill@byu.edu

Bryant Jensen

Associate Professor
Teacher Education

206-H MCKB
(801) 422-3241

bryant_jensen@byu.edu

David Laraway

Department Chair
Philosophy

4086A JFSB
(801) 422-3807

david_laraway@byu.edu

Erik Larson

Associate Professor
Spanish and Portuguese

3160 JFSB
(801) 422-1726

erik_larson@byu.edu

Shawn Miller

Associate Professor
History

2142 JFSB
(801) 422-3425

shawn_miller@byu.edu

Rex Nielson

Associate Professor
Spanish and Portuguese

3149 JFSB
801-422-2176

rex_nielson@byu.edu

Samuel Otterstrom

Associate Dean
FHSS

690F KMBL
(801) 422-7751

samuel_otterstrom@byu.edu

Brian Price

Professor
Spanish and Portuguese

3158 JFSB
(801) 422-3453

brian_price@byu.edu

Rob Smead

Associate Professor
Spanish and Portuguese

3153 JFSB
(801) 422-2636

rob_smead@byu.edu

Jeff Turley

Department Chair
Spanish and Portuguese

3190B JFSB
(801) 422-7019

jeffrey_turley@byu.edu

Evan Ward

Associate Professor
History

2155 JFSB
(801) 422-8056

evan_ward@byu.edu

Douglas Weatherford

Professor
Spanish and Portuguese

3169 JFSB
(801) 422-4941

douglas_weatherford@byu.edu

Mac Wilson

Assistant Professor
Spanish and Portuguese

3142 JFSB
(801) 422-3964

mac_wilson@byu.edu

Governance

The major is regularly evaluated and reviewed by the six-member Executive Committee of LAS, composed of faculty from the Colleges of Humanities and Social Sciences. This evaluation is based on questionnaires or essays that graduating seniors complete during their last semester. The Executive Committee and the group of affiliated faculty review the results of the assessment work annually, and faculty make decisions regarding the curriculum structure of the major.