Skip to main content

Faculty

European Studies Coordinator

Rob McFarland

Professor
German and Russian

3104 JFSB
(801) 422-8331`

robmc@byu.edu

Executive Committee

Julie Allen

Professor
Comparative Arts & Letters

Scandinavia, Immigration, Literature

3025 JFSB
(801) 422-7891

julie_allen@byu.edu

Stewart Anderson

Associate Professor
History

German, Television, Media

2153 JFSB
(801) 422-7494

stewart_anderson@byu.edu

Celeste Beesley

Assistant Professor
Political Science

Political Economy, Soviet, Globalization

1225 HBLL
(801) 422-7807

celeste_beesley@byu.edu

Simon Greathead

Associate Professor
Marriott School of Business

International Business, Britain

665 TNRB
(801) 422-7811

sgreathead@byu.edu

Anna-Lisa Halling

Associate Professor
Portuguese

Women, Literature, Theatre

3161 JFSB
(801) 422-1759

anna-lisa_halling@byu.edu

Jennifer Haraguchi

Associate Professor
French and Italian

3139 JFSB
(801) 422-8179

jennifer_haraguchi@byu.edu

Jeff Hardy

Associate Professor
History

2144 JFSB

jeff_hardy@byu.edu

Bob Hudson

Professor
French and Italian

3133 JFSB
(801) 422-6554

bob_hudson@byu.edu

Chad Nelson

Assistant Professor
Political Science

752 SWKT
(801) 422-3505

chad_nelson@byu.edu

Gregory Stallings

Associate Professor
Spanish and Portuguese

Poetry, 20th Century

3166 JFSB
(801) 422-1273

gregory_stallings@byu.edu

Faculty Affiliates

Scott Alvord

Department Chair
Spanish and Portuguese

3190B JFSB
(801) 422-7546

salvord@byu.edu

Matthew Ancell

Associate Professor
Comparative Arts & Letters

Spain, Baroque Literature, Art

3029 JFSB
(801) 422-1707

ancell@byu.edu

Kif Augustine-Adams

Professor
Law

Migration, Citizenship, Gender

428 JRCB
(801) 422-3712

adamsk@law.byu.edu

Patricia Baialuna de Andrade

Assistant Professor
Spanish and Portuguese

3145 JFSB
(801) 422-1440

patricia_andrade@byu.edu

Nathan Balser

Associate Professor
Dance

Contemporary Dance, Music, Theatre

1132 RB
(801) 422-8022

n_balser@byu.edu

Jon Balzotti

Associate Professor
English

4127 JFSB
(801) 422-2440

jonathan_balzotti@byu.edu

Stephen Bay

Associate Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

Ancient and Late Antique Greece, Rome, Egypt

3019 JFSB
(801) 422-1696

stephen_bay@byu.edu

Teresa Bell

Associate Chair
German and Russian

Intercultural Communication, Language Teacher Preparation

3102 JFSB
(801) 422-4961

tbell@byu.edu

Stan Benfell

Associate International VP
Comparative Arts and Letters

Literature, Renaissance, French/Italian

237E HRCB
(801) 422-8110

benfell@byu.edu

Kevin Blankinship

Assistant Professor
Asian and Near Eastern Languages

3058 JFSB

kevin_blankinship@byu.edu

Jennifer Bown

Dept Chair
German and Russian

Russian and Eastern European Culture

3117 JFSB
(801) 422-3207

jennifer_bown@byu.edu

Tony Brown

Professor
German and Russian

Russian Culture, Second Languages

3113 JFSB
(801) 422-7012

tony_brown@byu.edu

Michael Call

Associate Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

French Culture, Literature, 17th Century

1163E JFSB
(801) 422-1616

michael_j_call@byu.edu

Emma Calderwood

Adjunct Professor
German and Russian

emmahcalderwood@gmail.com

Juliana Chapman

Assistant Professor
English

Literature, Music, Early Modern

4137 JFSB
(801) 422-8673

juliana_chapman@byu.edu

Carter Charles

Assistant Professor
French and Italian

270N JSB
(801) 422-2045

carter_charles@byu.edu

Michael Child

Associate Professor
Spanish and Portuguese

3161 JFSB
(801) 422-2496

michael_child@byu.edu

Mark Choate

Associate Professor
History

Italy, Immigration, Colonialism

2137 JFSB
(801) 422-5324

mark_choate@byu.edu

Scott Cooper

Associate Professor
Political Science

762 KMBL & 215 HRCB
(801) 422-4053

scott_cooper@byu.edu

Corry Cropper

Associate Dean
French and Italian

19th-Century France

4019 JFSB
(801) 422-4484

corry_cropper@byu.edu

Brian Croxall

Assistant Research Professor
Office of Digital Humanities

1163D JFSB
(801) 422-7425

brian.croxall@byu.edu

Doug Cunningham

Adjunct Faculty
Comparative Arts and Letters

douglas_cunningham@byu.edu

Lee Daniels

Associate Teaching Professor
Marketing

International Business

(801) 422-9005

lee_daniels@byu.edu

Luke Drake

Assistant Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

Luke_drake@byu.edu

Eric Dursteler

Professor
History

2130B JFSB
(801) 422-5260

eric_dursteler@byu.edu

Michael Easterling

Adjunct Faculty
Comparative Arts and Letters

Postmodernism, Modernism, Globalization

measterling80@gmail.com

Aaron C. Eastley

Associate Professor
English

4119 JFSB
(801) 422-1695

aaron_eastley@byu.edu

Marlene Esplin

Associate Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

3050 JFSB
(801) 422-6246

mhesplin@byu.edu

Christopher Flood

Associate Professor
French and Italian

Renaissance, French Culture, Literature

3134C JFSB
(801) 422-3220

cflood@byu.edu

Juan Freire

Assistant Professor
Teacher Education

Bilingual Education, Spanish

206R MCKB
(801) 422-4689

freire@byu.edu

Kalisha Grimsman

Adjunct Faculty
Comparative Arts & Letters

19th century French and American Art History

kalishagrimsman@gmail.com

Richard Hacken

Librarian
European Studies and Linguistics

5523 HBLL

hacken@byu.edu

George Handley

Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

3027 JFSB
(801) 422-7151

george_handley@byu.edu

Laura Hatch

Assistant Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

3030 JFSB

laura_hatch@byu.edu

Valerie Hegstrom

Professor
Spanish Literature

Women's Studies, Early Modern, Literature

3148 JFSB
(801) 422-3191

valerie_hegstrom@byu.edu

Jane Hinckley

Adjunct Faculty
Comparative Arts and Letters

18th-Century British Female Creatives

3005H JKB
(801) 422-9576

jane_hinckley@byu.edu

Jaren Hinckley

Professor
Music

Music Performance, Composition

E-464 HFAC
(801) 422-6339

clarinet@byu.edu

Jamie Horrocks

Associate Professor
British Literature

4169 JFSB
(801) 422-8788

jamie_horrocks@byu.edu

Kathryn Isaak

Adjunct Faculty
Comparative Arts and Letters

3005Q JKB
(801) 422-1656

kli@byu.edu

Brian Iverson

Associate Professor
Mechanical Engineering

Heat Transfer, Thermal Systems, Energy

360J EB
(801) 422-7514

bdiverson@byu.edu

Seth Jeppesen

Associate Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

Greek, Performance, Classics

3041 JFSB
(801) 422-2220

sjeppesen@byu.edu

Kimberly Johnson

Professor
English

Poetry, Renaissance, Britain

4144 JFSB
(801) 422-2998

kimberly_johnson@byu.edu

Katya Jordan

Professor
German and Russian

3112A JFSB
(801) 422-3373

katya_jordan@byu.edu

Jason Kerr

Assistant Professor
English

British Literature, 17th Century

4163 JFSB
(801) 422-1503

Jason_Kerr@byu.edu

Paul Kerry

Associate Professor
History

Transatlantic, German, Jewish

2149 JFSB
(801) 422-2983

paul_kerry@byu.edu

Alex King

Instructor
CLS

Former-Yugoslavia, Serbia, Bosnia

alexsking77@gmail.com

Stan Knapp

Associate Professor
Sociology

Multicultural Issues, Social/Religious History

2041 JFSB
(801) 422-3590

stan_knapp@byu.edu

Nate Kramer

Associate Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

Literature, Scandanavia, Modernism

3031 JFSB
(801) 422-1932

nate_kramer@byu.edu

David Laraway

Department Chair
Philosophy

Hispanic Literature/Basque and Basque-American Literature and Culture

4086A JFSB
(801) 422-3807

david_laraway@byu.edu

Heidi Lawrence

Adjunct Faculty
English

(801) 422-1641

heidi.lawrence@byu.edu

Daryl Lee

Professor
French & Italian

Film, Literature, Contemporary

3134A JFSB
(801) 422-9055

dlee@byu.edu

Kate Lindsay

Student Advisor
Honors Program

102 MSRB
(801) 422-5497

honors@byu.edu

Sarah Loose Guerrero

Associate Professor
History

Medieval, Italy, Social/Religious History

2148 JFSB
(801) 422-3335

sarah_loose@byu.edu

Grant Lundberg

Professor
German and Russian

Slavic History, Russian, History

3097 JFSB
(801) 422-2615

grant_lundberg@byu.edu

Roger Macfarlane

Associate Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

Classics, Rome, Mythology

3021 JFSB
(801) 422-2864

macfarlane@byu.edu

Nick Mason

Professor
English

4107 JFSB
(801) 422-4617

nick_mason@byu.edu

Brett McInelly

Professor
English

18th-Century British Literature and Culture, Religion, Methodist Revival

4102 JFSB
(801) 422-1716

brett_mcinelly@byu.edu

Maren Mecham

Language Coordinator
Scandinavian Studies

Norwegian

3005S JKB
(801) 422-9177

marenmecham@byu.edu

Teona Oniani

Adjunct Faculty
Center for Language Studies

Georgian Language History and Culture

teonaoniani@gmail.com

Marie Orton

Professor
French and Italian

3134B JFSB
(801) 422-3389

marie_orton@byu.edu

Samuel Otterstrom

Associate Dean
FHSS

Historical Geography, Settlement

690F KMBL
(801) 422-7751

samuel_otterstrom@byu.edu

Charles Oughton

Assistant Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

3040 JFSB
(801) 422-7687

oughton_charles@byu.edu

Joseph Parry

Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

Philosophy, Renaissance

3055 JFSB
(801) 422-3138

joseph_parry@byu.edu

Daniel Paul

Assistant Professor
French and Italian

Italian Cinema and Media, Gender Studies, Film Studies

3141 JFSB
(801) 422-2016

daniel_paul@byu.edu

Katharina Paxman

Associate Professor
Philosophy

Hume, Early Modern, Philosophy

4086-C JFSB
(801) 422-9268

katie_paxman@byu.edu

Brice Peterson

Assistant Professor
English

4153 JFSB
(801) 422-8756

brice_peterson@byu.edu

Sara Phenix

Assistant Professor
French and Italian

3129 JFSB
(801) 422-7797

sara_phenix@byu.edu

Dale Pratt

Professor
Spanish and Portuguese

Literature, Realism, Novels

3147 JFSB
(801) 422-3188

dale_pratt@byu.edu

Nathan Priddis

Associate Professor
Physical and Mathematical Sciences

222 TMCB
(801) 422-2516

priddis@mathematics.byu.edu

Andrew Reed

Associate Professor
Church History and Doctrine

Russia and Eastern Europe

316M JSB
(801) 422-4329

Sarah Reed

Assistant Professor
History

Germany, Scandinavia, European Immigration to the US

2164 JFSB
(801) 422-9167

sarah_reed@byu.edu

Céline Rose

Assistant Professor
French and Applied Linguistics

3125 JFSB
(801) 422-3935

celine_rose@byu.edu

Marco de Ruiter

Instructor
CLS

Dutch/Belgium Culture and History

marco.de.ruiter@hotmail.com

Lin Sherman Jr.

Professor
Spanish

Spanish Peninsular Literature

B-356C ASB
(801) 422-3967

alvin_sherman@byu.edu

Tom Spencer

Associate Professor
German and Russian

3115 JFSB
(801) 422-1563

tomof12@gmail.com

Charlotte Stanford

Professor
Interdisciplinary Humanities

3038 JFSB
(801) 422-4604

charlotte_stanford@byu.edu

Maria Summers

Romanian Professor
Center for Language Studies

(801) 422-5426

maria_summers@byu.edu

James Swensen

Associate Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

3054 JFSB
(801) 422-2206

james_swensen@byu.edu

Mike Taylor

Associate Professor
English

4153 JFSB
(801) 422-2481

mike_taylor@byu.edu

Thomas Taylor

Instructor
CLS

Welsh Language

tgt@byu.net

Leslee Thorne-Murphy

Associate Professor
English

4002B JFSB
(801) 422-1506

leslee_thorne-murphy@byu.edu

Jonathon Tichy

Instructor
CLS

Czech and Slovak Culture, Language, History, Diplomacy, and Foreign Policy

tichy@envoylegal.com

Lucia Villareal

Adjunct Faculty
Spanish and Portuguese

3005C JKB
(801) 422-3455

lucia.villarreal@byu.edu

Jarica Watts

Associate Professor
English

20th-Century British Literature

4198 JFSB
(801) 422-4938

jarica_watts@byu.edu

Tiina Watts

Adjunct Faculty
Comparative Arts and Letters

Finnish

3005H JKB
(801) 422-9177

tiiwatts@byu.edu

Paul Westover

Associate Professor
English

Romanticism, Britain, Literature

4149 JFSB
(801) 422-3048

paw@byu.edu

Miranda Wilcox

Associate Professor
English

Medieval, Britain, Religion

4165 JFSB
(801) 422-3339

miranda_wilcox@byu.edu

Mac Wilson

Assistant Professor
Spanish and Portuguese

3142 JFSB
(801) 422-3964

mac_wilson@byu.edu

Elliott Wise

Assistant Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

Art, Early Modern, Medieval

3048 JFSB
(801) 422-7294

elliott_wise@byu.edu

Jonathon Wood

Managing Director
Whitmore Global business Center

International Business

(801) 422-4832

jcwood@byu.edu

Erik Yingling

Assistant Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

Art during Late Antiquity

eyinglin@byu.edu

Carina Coria Zapata

Adjunct Faculty
Spanish and Portuguese

carinascoria@outlook.com

Governance

The European Studies program is governed by an Executive Committee of faculty that represents various departments and schools across campus. Affiliated faculty, comprised of faculty members whose work relates to Europe and who have elected to join this body, participate in discussions related to the program

Most of the assessment of the major and minor is done by the program coordinator through competency exams and surveys of graduates and alumni. The Executive Committee meets regularly to review the results of these exams and surveys and make recommendations to the affiliated faculty for needed changes. The results of the assessment work are communicated annually to the faculty affiliates, who are invited to discuss these findings.