Skip to main content

Faculty

Faculty Coordinator

Heather Belnap

Associate Professor
Art History

3051 JFSB & 208 HRCB
(801) 422-8242

heather_belnap@byu.edu

Executive Committee

Julie Allen

Professor
Comparative Arts & Letters

Scandinavia, Immigration, Literature

3025 JFSB
(801) 422-7891

julie_allen@byu.edu

Stewart Anderson

Associate Professor
History

German, Television, Media

2153 JFSB
(801) 422-7494

stewart_anderson@byu.edu

Celeste Beesley

Assistant Professor
Political Science

Political Economy, Soviet, Globalization

1225 HBLL
(801) 422-7807

celeste_beesley@byu.edu

Carter Charles

Assistant Professor
Church History

French, Church History, Haiti

270N JSB
(801) 422-2045

carter_charles@byu.edu

Scott Cooper

Associate Professor
Political Science

Soviet, Political Economy, Regional Institutions

762 KMBL
(801) 422-4053

scott_cooper@byu.edu

Eric Dursteler

Professor
History

Early Modern, Food History, Italy

2130B JFSB
(801) 422-5260

eric_dursteler@byu.edu

Simon Greathead

Associate Professor
Marriott School of Business

International Business, Britain

665 TNRB
(801) 422-7811

sgreathead@byu.edu

Anna-Lisa Halling

Associate Professor
Portuguese

Women, Literature, Theatre

3161 JFSB
(801) 422-1759

anna-lisa_halling@byu.edu

Nick Mason

Professor
English

Britain, Literature, Contemporary

4107 JFSB
(801) 422-4617

nick_mason@byu.edu

Rob McFarland

Professor
German and Russian

Literature, Film, Architectural History

3104 JFSB
(801) 422-8331`

robmc@byu.edu

Sara Phenix

Assistant Professor
French and Italian

History, French Culture

3129 JFSB
(801) 422-7797

sara_phenix@byu.edu

Gregory Stallings

Associate Professor
Spanish and Portuguese

Poetry, 20th Century

3166 JFSB
(801) 422-1273

gregory_stallings@byu.edu

Faculty Affiliates

Matthew Ancell

Associate Professor
Comparative Arts & Letters

Spain, Baroque Literature, Art

3029 JFSB
(801) 422-1707

ancell@byu.edu

Nathan Balser

Associate Professor
Dance

Contemporary Dance, Music, Theatre

1132 RB
(801) 422-8022

n_balser@byu.edu

Stan Benfell

Associate International VP
Comparative Arts and Letters

Literature, Renaissance, French/Italian

237E HRCB
(801) 422-8110

benfell@byu.edu

Tony Brown

Professor
German and Russian

Russian Culture, Second Languages

3113 JFSB
(801) 422-7012

tony_brown@byu.edu

Michael Call

Associate Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

French Culture, Literature, 17th Century

1163E JFSB
(801) 422-1616

michael_j_call@byu.edu

Juliana Chapman

Assistant Professor
English

Literature, Music, Early Modern

4137 JFSB
(801) 422-8673

juliana_chapman@byu.edu

Mark Choate

Associate Professor
History

Italy, Immigration, Colonialism

2137 JFSB
(801) 422-5324

mark_choate@byu.edu

Lee Daniels

Associate Teaching Professor
Marketing

International Business

(801) 422-9005

lee_daniels@byu.edu

Christopher Flood

Associate Professor
French and Italian

Renaissance, French Culture, Literature

3134C JFSB
(801) 422-3220

cflood@byu.edu

Juan Freire

Assistant Professor
Teacher Education

Bilingual Education, Spanish

206R MCKB
(801) 422-4689

freire@byu.edu

Jennifer Haraguchi

Associate Professor
French and Italian

Italy, Women, Early Modern

3139 JFSB
(801) 422-8179

jennifer_haraguchi@byu.edu

Jeff Hardy

Associate Professor
History

Soviet, Punishment Systems

2144 JFSB

jeff_hardy@byu.edu

Valerie Hegstrom

Professor
Spanish Literature

Women's Studies, Early Modern, Literature

3148 JFSB
(801) 422-3191

valerie_hegstrom@byu.edu

Seth Jeppesen

Associate Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

Greek, Performance, Classics

3041 JFSB
(801) 422-2220

sjeppesen@byu.edu

Kimberly Johnson

Professor
English

Poetry, Renaissance, Britain

4144 JFSB
(801) 422-2998

kimberly_johnson@byu.edu

Jason Kerr

Assistant Professor
English

British Literature, 17th Century

4163 JFSB
(801) 422-1503

Jason_Kerr@byu.edu

Stan Knapp

Associate Professor
Sociology

Multicultural Issues, Social/Religious History

2041 JFSB
(801) 422-3590

stan_knapp@byu.edu

Nate Kramer

Associate Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

Literature, Scandanavia, Modernism

3031 JFSB
(801) 422-1932

nate_kramer@byu.edu

Daryl Lee

Professor
French & Italian

Film, Literature, Contemporary

3134A JFSB
(801) 422-9055

dlee@byu.edu

Sarah Loose Guerrero

Associate Professor
History

Medieval, Italy, Social/Religious History

2148 JFSB
(801) 422-3335

sarah_loose@byu.edu

Grant Lundberg

Professor
German and Russian

Slavic History, Russian, History

3097 JFSB
(801) 422-2615

grant_lundberg@byu.edu

Roger Macfarlane

Associate Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

Classics, Rome, Mythology

3021 JFSB
(801) 422-2864

macfarlane@byu.edu

Samuel Otterstrom

Associate Dean
FHSS

Historical Geography, Settlement

690F KMBL
(801) 422-7751

samuel_otterstrom@byu.edu

Joseph Parry

Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

Philosophy, Renaissance

3055 JFSB
(801) 422-3138

joseph_parry@byu.edu

Katharina Paxman

Associate Professor
Philosophy

Hume, Early Modern, Philosophy

4086-C JFSB
(801) 422-9268

katie_paxman@byu.edu

Dale Pratt

Professor
Spanish and Portuguese

Literature, Realism, Novels

3147 JFSB
(801) 422-3188

dale_pratt@byu.edu

Paul Westover

Associate Professor
English

Romanticism, Britain, Literature

4149 JFSB
(801) 422-3048

paw@byu.edu

Miranda Wilcox

Associate Professor
English

Medieval, Britain, Religion

4165 JFSB
(801) 422-3339

miranda_wilcox@byu.edu

Elliott Wise

Assistant Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

Art, Early Modern, Medieval

3048 JFSB
(801) 422-7294

elliott_wise@byu.edu

Jonathon Wood

Managing Director
Whitmore Global business Center

International Business

(801) 422-4832

jcwood@byu.edu

Governance

The European Studies program is governed by an Executive Committee of faculty that represents various departments and schools across campus. Affiliated faculty, comprised of faculty members whose work relates to Europe and who have elected to join this body, participate in discussions related to the program

Most of the assessment of the major and minor is done by the program coordinator through competency exams and surveys of graduates and alumni. The Executive Committee meets regularly to review the results of these exams and surveys and make recommendations to the affiliated faculty for needed changes. The results of the assessment work are communicated annually to the faculty affiliates, who are invited to discuss these findings.