Skip to main content

Faculty

Middle East Studies/Arabic Coordinator

Joshua Gubler

Associate Professor
Political Science

764 KMBL and 203 HRCB
(801) 422-2829

jgub@byu.edu

Affiliated Faculty

R. Kirk Belnap

Director
Asian and Near Eastern Languages

3064B JFSB
(801) 422-6531

belnap@byu.edu

Kevin Blankinship

Assistant Professor
Asian and Near Eastern Languages

3058 JFSB

kevin_blankinship@byu.edu

Cynthia Finlayson

Associate Professor
Anthropology

864 KMBL
(801) 422-5628

calderfin@aol.com

Trevan Hatch

Associate Librarian
Ancient Near Eastern Studies
Middle East Studies/Arabic

2247 HBLL
(801) 422-6118

trevan_hatch@byu.edu

Christine Isom-Verhaaren

Assistant Professor
History

2146 JFSB
(801) 422-7683

cisom-verhaaren@byu.edu

David Johnson

Associate Professor
Anthropology

892 KMBL
(801) 422-2965

david_johnson@byu.edu

Jim Kearl

President
BYU Jerusalem Center

2103 WVB
(801) 422-5812

j_r_kearl@byu.edu

Quinn Mecham

Associate Director
Kennedy Center

237 HRCB
(801) 422-5317

qmecham@byu.edu

David Romney

Assistant Professor
Political Science

734 KMBL
(801) 422-0364

david.romney@byu.edu

Spencer Scoville

Associate Professor
Asian and Near Eastern Languages

3061 JFSB
(801) 422-5271

spencer_scoville@byu.edu

Governance

MESA faculty meet each year as a whole to oversee the major and to assess needed changes to the major and minor. This group helped draft the founding documents for the major in 2003 and have devoted effort to offering our students an excellent experience since. MESA faculty consistently have made changes to the major curriculum to tighten the major sequence, add required classes to strengthen the focus on writing and research, and refine the Arabic language program.