Skip to main content

Faculty

Ancient Near Eastern Studies Coordinator

Cecilia Peek

Associate Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

3035 JFSB and 205 HRCB
(801) 422-4564

cecilia_peek@byu.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Stephen Bay

Associate Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

3019 JFSB
(801) 422-1696

stephen_bay@byu.edu

Dan Belnap

Associate Professor
Ancient Scripture

316G JSB
(801) 422-8670

dan_belnap@byu.edu

Lincoln Blumell

Associate Professor
Ancient Scripture

210F JSB
(801) 422-2497

lincoln_blumell@byu.edu

Jeff Chadwick

Professor
Church History

316H JSB
(801) 422-2287

jeffrey_chadwick@byu.edu

Cynthia Finlayson

Associate Professor
Anthropology

864 KMBL
(801) 422-5628

calderfin@aol.com

John Gee

Senior Research Fellow
Maxwell Institute

3093 JFSB
(801) 422-8269

john_gee@byu.edu

Matthew Grey

Associate Professor
Ancient Scripture

365G JSB
(801) 422-2441

matthew_grey@byu.edu

Taylor Halverson

Associate Professor
Marriott School of Business

621 TNRB
(801) 422-7085

taylor.halverson@byu.edu

Trevan Hatch

Associate Librarian
Ancient Near Eastern Studies
Middle East Studies/Arabic

2247 HBLL
(801) 422-6118

trevan_hatch@byu.edu

Shon Hopkin

Department Chair
Ancient Scripture

316L JSB
(801) 422-2445

shonhopkin@byu.edu

Eric Huntsman

Professor
Ancient Scripture

365F JFSB
(801) 375-3046

eric_huntsman@byu.edu

David Johnson

Associate Professor
Anthropology

892 KMBL
(801) 422-2965

david_johnson@byu.edu

Frank Judd Jr.

Professor
Ancient Scripture

365G JSB
(801) 422-8937

frank_judd@byu.edu

Jared Ludlow

Publications Director
Religious Studies Center

185A HGB
(801) 422-2403

jared_ludlow@byu.edu

Kerry Muhlestein

Professor
Ancient Scripture

270L JSB
(801) 422-3911

kerry_muhlestein@byu.edu

Donald Parry

Professor
Asian and Near Eastern Languages

3057 JFSB
(801) 422-3491

donald_parry@byu.edu

Mike Pope

Associate Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

3043 JFSB
(801) 422-1988

mike_pope@byu.edu

Stephen Ricks

Professor
Asian and Near Eastern Languages

3059 JFSB
(801) 422-5428

stephen_ricks@byu.edu

Aaron Schade

Professor
Ancient Scripture

316J JSB
(801) 422-2820

aaron_schade@byu.edu

David Seely

Professor
Ancient Scripture

303G JSB
(801) 422-3350

david_seely@byu.edu

Ed Stratford

Associate Professor
History

2123 JFSB
(801) 422-8556

edward_stratford@byu.edu

Gaye Strathearn

Associate Dean
Religious Education

370D JSB
(801) 422-3290

gaye_strathearn@byu.edu

Thomas Wayment

Professor
Comparative Arts and Letters

3045 JFSB
(801) 422-6401

thom_wayment@byu.edu

Governance

ANES faculty meet as a group of affiliated faculty at least once each year to assess the major and discuss changes that may need to be made. The ANES Executive Committee communicates regularly internally, and as needed with the affiliated faculty, concerning matters related to the major. ANES faculty are encouraged by the ANES coordinator to create clearly defined and rigorous learning outcomes and to continue to improve their courses.